Ambassadors & Mentors

We are grateful to the 2016 STIR Ambassadors, Mentors and City Mentors who support our program through educational programming, networking opportunities and expert insights.


Maria Amundson, Global Chair Technology Sector, Edelman

Jennifer Bradley, Founding Director, Aspen Institute Center for Urban Innovation

Ron Bouganim, Managing Partner, Govtech Fund

Bernadette Clavier, Director, Stanford Center for Social Innovation

Nicola Corzine, Executive Director, Nasdaq Entrepreneur Center

Adarsh A. Desai, Head of Innovation Labs, World Bank

Peter Hirshberg, Chairman, City Innovate Foundation

Ian Kalin, Chief Data Officer, U.S. Commerce Department

Ayesha Khanna, President, Points of Light Civic Incubator

Julie Lein, President and Co-Founder, Tumml

Kate Lydon, Portfolio Director, Ideo

Corey Marshall, Director, Splunk4Good

Lenny Mendonca, Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Jennifer Pahlka, Founder and Executive Director, Code for America

Barbara Pivnicka, President and CEO of the San Francisco Global Trade Council

Ken Sawyer, Founder and Managing Director, Saints Capital

Vinay Trivedi, Investment Team, The Blackstone Group

Mitchell Weiss, Senior Director Entrepreneurial Management, Harvard Business School

Peter Werner, Partner, Cooley LLP

Tom Yoritaka, Global Managing Director, Cisco Entrepreneurs in Residence


Ronald Berger, CTO,

Nick Ellis, CEO, HIRABL

Melinda Briana Epler, Founder & CEO, Change Catalyst

Bernd Gruber, COO,

Dustin Haisler, Chief Innovation Officer, eRepublic

Kiran Jain, Chief Strategy Officer,

Tim Nichols, Managing Director, Impact Hub

Brian Purchia, Principal, Purchia Communications LLC

Wayne Sutton, Co-Founder, Tech Inclusion & BUILDUP

JD Toppin, SVP of Operations, Wearable World

Zac Townsend, Director API Banking, Silicon Valley Bank

Stephanie Urbanski, CEO,

Joe Vasquez, Director of Partnerships, Runway

Rainer Wolfsburger, CEO,

Monique Woodard, Executive Director, Black Founders


San Francisco

Joy Bonaguro, Chief Data Officer, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Krista Canellakis, Deputy Innovation Officer, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Jason Elliott, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Jonathan Fuchs, Director, Center for Learning & Innovation, Department of Public Health

Miguel Gamino, Chief Information Officer, Department of Technology

Jeremy M. Goldberg, Director of Startup in Residence, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Colin Lacon, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Jason Lally, Open Data Program Manager, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Jay Nath, Chief Innovation Officer, Office of Mayor Edwin M. Lee

Tim Papandreou, Director Office of Innovation, Municipal Transportation Agency

George Su, Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care, SF General Hospital


Marisa Raya, Special Projects, Economic and Workforce Development

San Leandro

Deborah Acosta, Chief Innovation Officer, City of San Leandro

West Sacramento

Jon Robinson, Deputy City Manager, City of West Sacramento